Project Let's Make Pain Visible - Asking for help with translations

My name is Jordi Miró and I am a professor of Health Psychology at the University Rovira-Virgili (URV; Tarragona, Spain). For more than 30 years I have devoted my working life to studying and treating people with chronic pain.

In all these years, it has come to my attention that, despite having the most needs, the most vulnerable populations are the ones that receive the least attention. The case of children is a paradigmatic example, as is the case of blind people.

Indeed, research has shown that blind people are more sensitive to pain, and are more vigilant to painful stimuli. Research has also shown that hypersensitivity and hypervigilance are risk factors for chronic pain. Even so, there is very little specific research on the problems caused by chronic pain in people with vision problems, and much less on the most appropriate treatments, or on the development of treatments, for the needs of this population.

For these reasons the URV’s Chair in Pediatric Pain, in collaboration with healthcare professionals and blind people, is about to undertake a project to find data that will enable the following questions to be solved: 1) What are the most common pain problems?, and 2) What treatment needs do blind and low-vision individuals have? The aim is to develop better treatments, including those supported by mobile applications, that can improve the quality of life of individuals with visual problems who also suffer from pain. We intend it to be an international study and we are contacting you to request your help.

The aim of the project is to make the collected data available to all researchers in the world so that they can carry out studies in this field. The data will be open access. It is a collaborative project that aspires to be useful to all people with this type of problem, regardless of their gender, age, and nationality.